About

Lichtenberg Studios

Since 2006, Lichtenberg Studios has been the home of an international artist-in residence programme, located in the top floor of a Wilhelminian-period apartment building in the ‘Victoriastadt’ quarter, not far from the historical Tuchollaplatz square, in the Berlin district of Lichtenberg. Between 2006 and 2007, the Arts Council England – North East organised residence periods for artists here in conjunction with Lichtenberg’s Arts and Cultural Office. Zuzana Lola Hruskova, Claire Davis, Cathryn Jiggens, Gregory Maas and Kim Kim were among the artists who worked here. The multi-media artist Francis Gomila used the residence up to 2010 for a wide range of projects, not just in Lichtenberg.

From 2011, Lichtenberg Studios will take over this facility and offer artists from all over the world the opportunity to live and work in an interesting district in former East Berlin and to obtain their own impressions of Berlin and the city’s art scenes. The residence period of a maximum of two months will provide enough time to do all of these things. The project is aimed at artists, writers, architects and others who are interested in urban space.

The guiding principle is the idea of intervening in the district using low-threshold projects: starting with the tourist-like behaviour of the resident artists, who will explore the district as researchers or simply as curious strollers, and extending right through to concrete projects in public space in Lichtenberg.

With ‘projects’, we are referring to small-scale, mostly unobtrusive interventions that will generally take place without being announced in advance and will appear natural and spontaneous. This strategy is based on an approach that was already being debated back in the 1970s: i.e. that art is an integral part of life, and it should not be something distant and mythical that is elevated up onto pedestals. Lichtenberg Studios intends to help focus the attention of the artists-in-residence on the district of Lichtenberg itself, its history, architecture, and its inhabitants and their lives.

This idea has been conceived at a fundamental level and on a long-term basis, and will be accompanied and supported by an annual exhibition of the project results in the Galerie im Ratskeller in Lichtenberg and by the production of a small, free information brochure for interested members of the public, which will document the artists’ residence periods over the year along with the projects realised.

Why Lichtenberg?

Lichtenberg is interesting from an urban-space perspective (as it includes densely populated inner-city areas, East German pre-fabricated tower blocks of flats and single-family houses) and also offers other facets such as leisure facilities (Tierpark zoo, Karlshorst horse-and-trap racing track) and more prosperous residential areas (Karlshorst, Rummelsburger Bucht). The Berlin district of Lichtenberg is ideally suited for an artist-in-residence programme, not least because of its slightly peripheral status as a settled urban district that is not regarded as “in”. The major unknowns in these artistic interventions will be the local inhabitants themselves as potential recipients. The area has less than 10 percent migrants, who are mainly a legacy from GDR times and come from Asia or Eastern Europe. The age structure of the district is characterised by 40 percent of the residents being over 45 years-of-age.

The local residents are the most important factor in the forms of temporary art in public space that are planned. The art projects will be conceived and realised with the locals in mind, even when it is not intended that they will consciously perceive these projects as art in certain cases. The first projects in public space in Lichtenberg have met with an unexpectedly positive response. It almost seemed as if people were waiting for something to happen here. What the local residents have had to say to the artists has also been interesting. Actions in public space are never a one-way street; instead, they always have surprises in store for everybody involved.

Guest artists

The guest artists will be selected according to a number of considerations. Alongside the ability to work on projects in a professional manner – which includes openness, tolerance and willingness to engage in discussion – it is the concrete projects themselves that will also lead to an invitation. These projects will mainly take place in and use temporary project spaces (for a period of around one month). We are seeking ideas (approaches) and, above all, artists who are interested in realising these ideas within the framework of Lichtenberg Studios. In addition to residential periods by international guests (one to two months) and Berlin-based artists (one to two weeks), one or two university projects every year will also be carried out with students. Planned here are projects with university classes from the areas of architecture, photography and public art. Projects with historical or cultural-sociological approaches are also conceivable.

Framework conditions

Lichtenberg Studios will provide resident artists with free accommodation and a work room. It is currently not possible to provide any additional financial support beyond this. It is hoped that our financial situation will improve over the course of the year. However, small sums can be made available to help with the costs of realising projects and, in certain cases, also for the production of a small brochure with the results of projects.

If you are interested in applying, please contact us at info@lichtenberg-studios.de, describing yourself and your plans; there is no application form. There is also currently no application deadline, and places will be awarded at short notice.

Lichtenberg Studios is a project organised by Intervention Berlin e.V. in cooperation with Berlin-Lichtenberg’s Arts and Cultural Office.

January, 2011

Hintergrund

Die Lichtenberg Studios

Seit 2006 befinden sich im Obergeschoss des gründerzeitlichen Stadthauses der Berliner Ortslage Victoriastadt, unmittelbar am historischen Tuchollaplatz, die Lichtenberg Studios als internationales Künstlerresidenzprogramm. Von 2006 bis 2007 betreute das Arts Council England North East in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kunst- und Kulturamt Lichtenberg Künstleraufenthalte. Unter anderem arbeiteten dort Zuzana Lola Hruskova, Claire Davis, Cathryn Jiggens, Gregory Maas und Kim Kim. Bis 2010 nutzte der Mulitmediakünstler Francis Gomila die Residenz für vielfältige Projekte, nicht nur in Lichtenberg.

Ab 2011 werden die Lichtenberg Studios die Räume übernehmen und internationalen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern die Möglichkeit bieten, in einem interessanten ehemaligen Ostberliner Bezirk zu leben, zu arbeiten und Eindrücke von Berlin und seinen Kunstszenen zu sammeln. Bei einer Aufenthaltsdauer von maximal 2 Monaten bleibt für beides genügend Zeit. Das Projekt richtet sich an bildende und darstellende KünstlerInnen, SchriftstellerInnen, ArchitektInnen und andere am Stadtraum interessierte Personen.

Die Grundlage bildet die Idee der Aktivierung des Bezirkes über niederschwellige Interventionen, angefangen bei den „touristischen“ Gesten der Residenzgäste, die den Bezirk als Rechercheure oder einfache Flaneure durchstreifen, bis hin zu konkreten Projekten in der Öffentlichkeit Lichtenbergs.

Mit Projekten sind kleine und meist stille Realisierungen gemeint, die zumeist ohne Vorankündigung wie selbstverständlich passieren. Dieser Strategie liegt eine Auffassung zugrunde, die schon in den 1970er Jahren diskutiert wurde: Kunst gehört zum Leben dazu, sie muss nichts Entferntes und nichts mythisch auf den Sockel Erhobenes sein. Die Lichtenberg Studios möchten die Aufmerksamkeit der ResidentInnen auf den Bezirk Lichtenberg, seine Geschichte, Architektur, die Bewohner und ihr Leben lenken.

Begleitet und unterstützt wird diese grundsätzlich und langfristig gedachte Idee durch eine jährlich stattfindende Ausstellung der Ergebnisse in der Lichtenberger Galerie im Ratskeller und durch die Produktion einer als kostenlose Information der interessierten Öffentlichkeit konzipierten kleinen Broschüre, die die Künstleraufenthalte eines Jahres und die realisierten Projekte dokumentiert.

Warum Lichtenberg?

Lichtenberg ist stadträumlich interessant (von innerstädtisch verdichteten Räumen über Plattenbauten bis hin zu Siedlungen mit Einfamilienhäusern) und verfügt über weitere Facetten, etwa im Freizeitbereich (Tierpark, Trabbrennbahn) oder in den besseren Wohnvierteln (Karlshorst, Rummelsburger Bucht). Der Berliner Bezirk Lichtenberg ist bestens geeignet für Kunstresidenzprogramm, nicht zuletzt wegen seines etwas randständigen Dasein als ein Bezirk, der nicht als “angesagt” gilt und ein unaufgeregtes städtisches Quartier darstellt. Die große Unbekannte bei diesen Kunstinterventionen sind die Bewohner als potentielle Rezipienten. Der Stadtteil weist einen Migrantenanteil von unter 10 Prozent auf, der sich als Erbe der DDR überwiegend aus dem asiatischen oder osteuropäischen Raum rekrutiert. Die Altersstruktur des Bezirks zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass 40 Prozent der Wohnbevölkerung älter als 45 Jahre sind.

Bei den geplanten Formen der temporären Kunst im öffentlichen Raum sind es die Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner, auf die es ankommt. Für sie werden die Kunstwerke erdacht und realisiert, selbst wenn diese zum Teil von ihnen nicht bewußt als Kunst wahrgenommen werden sollten. Die ersten Realisierungen in der Öffentlichkeit von Lichtenberg haben eine unerwartet positive Resonanz gezeigt. Es scheint, als ob man darauf gewartet hätte, dass hier etwas passiert. Interessant ist auch, was die BewohnerInnen den KünstlerInnen zu sagen haben. Das Agieren in der Öffentlichkeit ist nie eine Einbahnstraße, sondern hält für alle Beteiligten Überraschungen bereit.

Gäste

Die Auswahl der Gäste erfolgt nach verschiedenen Gesichtspunkten. Neben der Befähigung, mit den Aufgabenstellungen professionell umgehen zu können – was Offenheit, Toleranz und Diskussionsfreude beinhaltet – sind es konkrete Projekte, die zu einer Einladung führen können. Bei letztgenannten sind es vor allem die Bespielungen von temporären Projekträumen (für den Zeitraum von ca. einem Monat), für die Ideen (Ansätze) und vor allem KünstlerInnen gesucht werden, die Interesse haben, diese innerhalb des Rahmens der Lichtenberg Studios umzusetzen. Neben den Aufenthalten internationaler Gäste (ein bis zwei Monate) und Berliner KünstlerInnen (ein bis zwei Wochen) werden jedes Jahr auch ein bis zwei universitäre Projekte mit Studierenden umgesetzt. Angedacht sind Projekte mit Klassen aus den Bereichen Architektur, Fotografie und public art. Denkbar wären aber auch historische oder kultursoziologische Ansätze.

Rahmenbedingungen

Die Lichtenberg Studios bieten den ResidentInnen freie Unterkunft und einen Arbeitsraum. Eine weitere finanzielle Unterstützung ist zurzeit leider nicht möglich. Die finanzielle Ausstattung wird sich im Laufe des Jahres hoffentlich verbessern. Immerhin können geringe Beträge als Zuschuss für Realisierungskosten bereitgestellt sowie gegebenenfalls die Herstellung einer kleinen Broschüre mit den Arbeitsergebnissen finanziert werden.

InteressentInnen melden sich bitte formlos unter info@lichtenberg-studios.de. Eine Bewerbungsfrist gibt es momentan nicht, die Belegung erfolgt auch kurzfristig.

Die Lichtenberg Studios sind ein Projekt von Intervention Berlin e.V. in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Amt für Weiterbildung und Kultur des Bezirksamtes Lichtenberg.

Januar, 2011